Posted in Watercolours

Watercolour: Mango Skin

Mango Skin
Mango Skin

This painting is no for sale. It is special for me. I painted it maybe in 2010 when I was only re-discovering painting and watercolours. I might have started going through Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way or was about to start it.By that time, I had not painted for about 9 years – since I graduated from a 4-year Arts School for adults, which I loved. My favourite subject was watercolours.

I dug up my old watercolors, found a piece of watercolour paper and painted the first thing that my eye caught: a mango in a wooden painted dish.

I can see now that the main theme: uniting the green and the red – is still with me and I am still trying to solve it in my watercolours. Another theme has developed in various ways, but basically it is one of what lies beneath and of life, passion and power of nature that is visible almost immediately as we look.

This painting has remained an inspiration for me and a reminder that just the same powers sleep in us all the time, until we let them out through creativity. It is NEVER too late to start, restart or take an unexpected turn in what you do.

One thought on “Watercolour: Mango Skin

  1. Thank you for sharing this painting and what it holds for you personally…it is all the richer for knowing the context : )

Leave a Reply

