Posted in Events

Poetical Correctness and Butchered Shakespeare

Oxana Poberejnaia at The Spoken Word Shindig #4
Oxana Poberejnaia at The Spoken Word Shindig #4

No, we did not really kill Shakespeare. Or even butchered his oeuvres. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I heard the main guest Steve Anderson paraphrase the “rose by any other name” quote in his poem satirising British education system. Shakespeare’s lines sometimes get stuck in my head and I have to put them into poems to get rid of them. At Shindig 4 I read out such one based on “Let me not to the marriage of true minds” of Sonnet 116.

Steve  Anderson also read a poem of his criticising the current trends in published poetry: Poetical Correctness. I could not believe my ears, as by wondrous synchronicity I started my set with my poem entitled “How to get published” – containing different observations about what gets published nowadays, but full of similar angst (so I hope). Angst, by the way, was the defining word of Steve’s performance – which was great (both angst and the performance).

Spoken Word Shindig#5 will feature Gaia Holmes. Gaia is lovely and very supportive to me. We exchanged a few words about how over time our poetry evolves. I mentioned that mine got more minimalist and the theme that has emerged recently is that of love. With Gaia, one of the powerful themes at the moment is childlessness.

And this is a taste of Gaia’s poetry

I am very grateful to Winston Plowes for inviting me and to all fellow and sister poets and of course the audience for the lovely and warm evening. 🙂

My next stop is Geneviève L. Walsh’s Spoken Weird 8, where I will be performing alongside DOMINIC BERRY and KEIRON LEE HIGGINS on Thursday, January 9, 2014, 7:00pm until 10:00pm. See you in The Sportsman, Crown Street, Halifax, HX1 1JB.

Leave a Reply

